19 lis 2016

Drudkh 'A Furrow Cut Short'

Season Of Mist Underground Activists

1. Cursed Sons I
2. Cursed Sons II
3. To the Epoch of Unbowed Poets
4. Embers
5. Dishonour I
6. Dishonour II
7. Till Foreign Ground Shall Cover Eyes

The tenth album by Ukrainian eulogists of the Nature was released last year. In between two Eps and three splits - ten albums in 14 years of existence! Since 2006 the two founding members have been joined by Vlad and Krechet on bass, drums and keyboards. The collaboration is quite obvious since they know each other from common bands like Precambrian, Rattenfänger. Roman Saenko and Thurios, both of the founders have been active in acts like Hate Forest, Blood Of Kingu, Old Silver Key or Astrofaes. The list is huge and all of them are dedicated to the music.
Drudkh through all these years have become a mark of well-composed and preformed Black Metal. Their praising the Nature and Ukrainian folklore is inseparable element with their music. These subjects inspire them to the creation of what we hear each time when a record is finally out. Same story is with 'A Furrow Cut Short', where mainly from the begining we're receiving what we're used to with this horde. Mid to fast pace is mixing through the whole album. The drumming is the key to the success here, while even in the most nostalgic parts, it has some kind of folkish parts. Weirdly not always it can be heard but you've got this 100% feeling of what it is. Guitars are like with the previous works the essence of Drudkh. Like a most misanthropic journey, they create the rapturous visions about the most misghty places in the mountains and woods. The visions enriched with the poems by Ukrainian poets from the years 1935 to 1977. The guitars split often to two parts with leading one playing nostalgic melodies. The effort is great in the outcome, while with the support of the keyboards in the background it stretches the atmosphere to kind of spiritual one. Last but not least are the vocals, which carry the burden of anger. If you match all these elements together you'll come with rewarding result. The journey is not only meant to be pleasureable to your hearing senses, but also to reach to your souls for the older values.
The listenings of 'A Furrow Cut Short' went quickly by. The album has its depth, also it will become more clear when you'll do your lessons and translate the poems / lyrics. So do not waste the time, buy it and listen to it (if you already had it, listen to it again!).